Knitting to commemorate the First World War

Shawl no.2

The shawl I have bee knitting came along quite quickly towards the end, I added a few extra rows at the end to fit with what we had in mind, when I say ‘we’ that is me and my knitter in crime! (you know who you are!)

Finished the knitting part
Finished the knitting part

last night I sat and cut up pieces of yarn for the fringe, I was very overcome with this feeling of just how many little pieces of yarn I would need and then to attach!! I worked out it was around 600!! and goodness did some of my fellow knitters know about it, I had a good old moan but everyone was supportive!

I wrapped the yarn around a ruler, it was quite a thick one, I did it length ways snipping the top and bottom to get the right length, and I had a nice little heap by the end!

yarn for fringe
yarn for fringe

Then the long drawn out task of putting them all on….

The thing that surprised me the most was that it did not take me long to cut the lengths of yarn at all, in fact it was all done quite quickly, and after attaching a few bits of fringing it became apparent that it wouldn’t take too long, I was originally dreading it but found I quite enjoyed attaching all the yarn…I also miss judged quite how nice it was doing this part of the shawl, it was rather relaxing and quite snug and warm having it on my lap! I will be more than happy to do it again!

And as if by magic….because it had gone so quickly I had one snug and warm shawl!

vintage Victorian shawl with frigw ww1 film

 

One response

  1. Looks amazing!

    March 15, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers