Knitting to commemorate the First World War

Progress on the Vest Scarf

8177 Progress
I’ve been battling some kind of upper respiratory nonsense so I’ve not made as much progress as I had hoped on this pattern. Still, I am working on the right shoulder shaping and will soon work the right armhole. This Rowan yarn (Rowan PureLife in black tea colorway) is absolutely heavenly to work with. I love how soft it feels in my hands — such a comfort when the rest of me isn’t feeling well.

Hmmmm. . . I wonder whether knitters of the past found as much comfort in working the wool?  I am reminded that there was a nasty epidemic of influenza during WWI.  Would those who worried about loved ones have taken comfort in the meditative process of knitting or other needlework?  Was knitting a comfort to them as it is to many of us now?  I wonder.  I with I could speak with some of those knitters of the past.  I’m sure they would have a laugh at our need for this kind of leisure.  What was for them a necessity is for us a hobby.  Our lives have changed so much in 100 years.

My row gauge (supposed to be 6 garter ridges, or 12 rows to the inch) hasn’t held as well, but I think that’s because the stripe pattern isn’t completely in garter stitch. It causes me to wonder whether the numbers in the schematic were accurate. Still, I worked to the center back as directed (8 stripes from the armhole, then then next purl row was the center back) even though it measures about 2 inches longer than specified. I was afraid that if I cut it short the fronts would be out of proportion since they are worked in the same stitch pattern. Stitch gauge is holding well, I’m happy to say. Well, garter stitch was going to stretch out at any rate.

Leave a Reply

