Knitting to commemorate the First World War

I Am Getting More Back Than I Put In!

**firstly I had a big typo in my title as it was originally going to be different I have corrected it now and apologies because it did not sound too nice!**

One of the things I love about knitting is that there is always the chance to learn, I have spoken to people who have been knitting for decades and they still find new things to learn even now.

This is one of the reasons I am so happy that I am involved in knitting for ‘Tell Them of Us’ the world war one film, I have picked up a few new techniques by chatting to people and am thank full for this.

But more importantly I have had the opportunity to learn about the history behind it, the people involved, loved ones children even animals doing there bit!

I have learnt a lot about fashion at the time,colors, the way patterns were written, and the food the way of life, I have learnt a little about legal matters such as copy right, the list really could go on! for such a short space of time I have learnt so much!  the opportunity to learn never stops!

We don’t learn about these things in school and I really do believe we should make the most of learning new things all the time! I love researching things, some of my friends will know that if there is something that needs some research than I will do my up most to find what is needed and along the way I love picking up other interesting bits of information, this has certainly been the case when researching knitting patterns, picked up loads of patterns I like that came before and after the period in which the film is set.

For all of us knitting for this film our time is voluntary we are provided with yarn or if we have some in our stash we can use that for some bits, I am very grateful for this as we do not have extra money to spend on yarn, most of mine is stashed away for xmas pressies otherwise I am not sure I would have much, without the yarn being provided i am not sure i could be apart of the project so I really do appreciate it.

But the thing that has really been great about this is not only that opportunity to learn, but the friends made and the way a community can come together even though it is spread around the world.

The people involved in making this happen have put so much time and dedication in to it, it is amazing! They are always busy organizing things and making plans, researching the period and matching yarns we have now to ones around in the early 1900’s and they still find the time to organize us knitters and answer our questions, I am always very grateful for this.

The time we are all putting in is giving back a lot more not only to us but also to the village that this is based upon, the church in the village needs some restoration, the spire has already had to be taken down as it was unstable, he church also holds a commemorative stain glass window of one of the characters (no spoilers!) as this is a true story he was a real man who fought fr us in the war and the church will receive funds for it’s much needed restoration from the film.

As a community we can all lean on each other to chat about our excitement, the yarns we might use and any problems we might encounter, we are now a big and growing community of knitters and I think that we may lean on each other for years to come. Bonds and friendships have been built and I would have thought if most of us were asked to do something like this again we would jump at the chance!

I know I would!!

The Bendy Knitter xxx

5 responses

  1. Lovely post Juniper 🙂 It’s an amazing community that has become so much so quickly. I think we’re all happy to be part of it 🙂

    December 2, 2013 at 3:18 pm

    • Thank you, feel the need for a like button annie…think i have been on FB too much!!

      December 5, 2013 at 12:08 am

  2. Lucy London

    Hi, Was it your group who were looking for people to sew costumes please? I have mislaid the link!

    Kind Regards

    Lucy Lucy London http://www.femalewarpoets.blogspot.co.uk info@femalewarpoets.com http://www.inspirationalwomenofww1.blogspot.co.uk

    December 4, 2013 at 5:27 pm

    • i do think it was i am one of the voluntary knitters try this link and one of he lovely ladies should be able to point you in the right direction xx https://www.facebook.com/groups/224419677726913/

      December 5, 2013 at 12:07 am

    • and also you have added to my list of things i have gotten out of this project, looking at your blogs they are amazing!! xx

      December 5, 2013 at 12:26 am

Leave a Reply

