Knitting to commemorate the First World War

Remembrance day is about war!?

I have heard people say remembrance day is about war, is it really?

Whatever I feel about war itself, I do believe that people do their best to protect us and without troops fighting for us in WW1 and WW2 I hate to think where we would be now!

My grandma grew up in Singapore in world war two and she often talks about being occupied by the Japanese, it does not sound nice at all and I now feel lucky that we did not have that in the uk, that is mostly thanks to the men who fought for our right to freedom!

I often question weather we need war these days, no one really wants a war at all but again we are trying to protect those who need it and that is something that takes great courage.

In all wars people are just doing what they feel is right at the time often protecting their own family’s and children, in WW1 and WW2 I am sure that everyone did their best to keep the fight as far away from their own family’s as possible, but as soon as those men left their home, and in the run up, the war was felt in every home, watching loved ones leave and not know if they would return must have been hard! in ww1 few returned home and in ww2 it hadn’t been that long since a lot of people had seen boys leave and not return from the war, they must have felt that history was repeating!

But they swallowed the pain and put their energy into doing all they could, taking the jobs and making clothes, keeping the land and the country running.

I do respect all the troops that fight for us, I may not agree with war but I respect all who fight for us they deserve our respect and not our judgement! and all the mothers wives and children left behind also deserve our thoughts, life cannot be easy for them!

I have learnt a lot in the past few weeks about WW1 the amount of knitting that was done to provide for the soldiers from the tiniest of children sending out socks to the grandmother knitting jumpers and the wives knitting for their husbands that may not come home…this really pulls at my heart strings!

So is remembrance day about war!? NO it is about people! at home and at war!

I will share this again, my thoughts after joining “Orkney to Omaha!” knitters, part of a post on facebook

“…i will not only be remembering the men who gave there lives to make a better world for us to live in but the people at home keeping them all supplied even though for some their hearts were breaking as they worried about their close ones!”

keep them in your thoughts

The Bendy Knitter x

Leave a comment